Edizione 2014/2015





Regolamento e domanda di partecipazione

Regulations and application form

Règlement et demande de participation

Reglamento y ficha de participación

Judging Panel

Gianantonio Borgonovo, Ferruccio De Bortoli, Lucia Capuzzi, Jean-Paul Hernandez, Giuseppe Laras, Vittoria Prisciandaro, Pierangelo Sequeri (presidente), Maurizio Teani SJ, Roberto Vignolo, Virginio Pontiggia (segretario)


Interview with p. Carlo Casalone

Interview with p. Giacomo Costa

Edition 2013/2014



The Foundation Carlo Maria Martini, created thanks to the Italy Province of the Society of Jesus, with the participation of the Archdiocese of Milan, is promoting for the years 2014-2015, the second edition of the Carlo Maria Martini International Award.

The Award was founded in 2013 by the Archdiocese of Milan with the intention of recalling and remembering the figure and work of the Cardinal and of keeping the spirit that permeated his commitment alive.

"Prophet and a man of discernment and peace", "father to the whole Church" - as Pope Francis referred to him at the hearing for the presentation of the Foundation on August 31st last year - Carlo Maria Martini, with his love for Scripture and his extraordinary capacity for listening, questioning and dialogue, has become a cultural and spiritual landmark well beyond the borders of the Milanese church, where he was a pastor for over twenty two years.

This second edition has three important news. First, the expansion of the international dimension with the admission of four languages: Italian, French, English and Spanish.

Secondly, the introduction of a new section of the award: to the two sections already present in the first edition - the study of the thought and personality of Carlo Maria Martini and the in-depth analysis of the relationship between the Bible and contemporary culture (art, literature, philosophy, science, economics, politics, religion, performing arts, etc.) - a third is added, dedicated to the pastoral experiences and projects inspired by the Cardinal’s style.

Finally, the choice of putting emphasis on original entries by reserving the award only to unpublished works: precisely because of this choice it has been decided that the time between the announcement of the award and the delivery of entries will be longer. The works may be written or audiovisual. A prize of five thousand euro each, and the possibility of publication of the work, will be awarded to the best in each category. A panel appointed by the Fondazione Carlo Maria Martini will assess the works, and its members will be announced by September 15th 2014.

Participation is open to all persons aged eighteen or older on the date of announcement of this Award, and who, in line with the regulations, present the material they wish to submit in order to participate.

The deadline for the submission of all entries and for the delivery of materials is fixed for September 30th 2015.